Order of Perpetual Indulgence - Sydney House
Founded 1981

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player


The Seven Deadly Sins

The history of the deadly sins is long and complicated and there have not always been 7!


Gluttony, Lust, Avarice, Sadness, Anger, Acedia, Vainglory, Pride

Gula, Luxuria, Avaritia, Tristia, Ira, Superbia, Invidsia.

Gluttony, Lust, Covetousness, Sloth, Anger (Wrath), Pride (Vanity), Envy, Avarice

Pride, Envy, Anger, Sloth, Greed, Gluttony, Lust


Here, the seven original and the punishments they brought!

Pride Broken on the wheel
Envy Put in freezing water
Gluttony Forced to eat rats, toads, and snakes
Lust Smothered in fire and brimstone
Anger Dismembered alive
Greed Put in cauldrons of boiling oil
Sloth Thrown in snake pits


Seven New Deadly Sins!
Who among you are the guilty?

That's right! In 2008 after 1,500 years, the Vatican brought the seven deadly sins up to date by adding seven new ones for the age of globalisation.


Generic Engineering

Obscene Riches

Taking Drugs



Causing Social Injustice

Sister acknowledges the following sources of information and provides them as links for your further reading.

The Sydney Morning Herald - Vatican updates seven deadly sins

The Times OnLine - [UK] - Seven new deadly sins: are you guilty?

Follow us on Facebook

This website is fondly dedicated to the memory of Sister Carmen Get It - (15/4/1959 - 5/5/2006)
and to all those Sisters of the Sydney House who have passed on.
back to the top
Send mail to Sister Web for questions, comments, general feedback, or to report broken links.
© Order of Perpetual Indulgence, Sydney House - Last Modified 7th Junde 2019